• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Different Ubertis?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WSAR15

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am new to Black Powder revolvers and have bought a couple Ubertis. I intend to buy some more and build a collection.
Is the a difference (aside from price) in the pistols if I buy them from Midway, or Taylor's, or some other reseller?
Thanks

IMO no. Not anymore.
There was a claim that Cimarron used to hand pick the pistols they sold, but that was years ago and some still think it's true. And I have received a Uberti from them that I was pretty unsatisfied with. Might have been a lever action.

I have Ubertis from four different importers and see no difference.

There is no difference. The myth comes from the fact that Mike Harvey of Cimarron worked with Uberti to improve their product in the early `80's. They paid an extra $30 per gun for extra attention. Eventually those improvements made it into all of Uberti's guns. Today and for at least the last 20yrs, if not 30yrs, there is no difference among any of the importers. Yet the myth persists.

I bought an Uberti 60 army from Dixie gunworks about a year ago. Polished the internals, added Slixshot nipples, shimmed the arbor. It's an outstanding revolver, smooth as a baby's behind, probably my favorite revolver out of a couple dozen, black powder and modern

My experience since November 2022 with Uberti and their supply sources:

• Midway - Colt Walker – returned as damaged and smashed Uberti box – could not be replaced.