• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Dickert & Gill - questions

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a noob here on the forums, an old timer pointed me in this direction. Long story short I have a Dickert and Gill percussion rifle that I know little to nothing about.

It was purchased from a Brother who grew up in PA. It was in the family/attic ever since he was a small child in the 1920's/30's. The lock is broken and the hammer will not lock back and at some point someone sanded the lock. You can make out only a few letters of "LANCASTER".

There are a few pictures of the rifle located here. http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9939248&postcount=9

Any information about it would be appreciated. I'd like to at least get it shooting again and if it won't wreck any value I'd like to at least clean it up a little bit. The wood on the stock appears to be quite beautiful, but it's wearing a healthy dose of dirt and accumulated grime. TIA

Last edited by a moderator: