• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Cylinder cleaning???

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chaco24

32 Cal
Reaction score
I’m still very new to black powder revolvers, and I was wondering about how to clean the cylinder of a black powder revolver? Do I oil it with gun oil after cleaning, won’t the gun oil have a negative effect on my powder load???

I clean my cap and ball revolvers like all my other ML guns, warm water and a bit of dish soap. And then oil all parts and cylinder's. The next time I go to shoot my C & B all I do is shoot 2 caps on each nipple and go make smoke.

I clean my cap and ball revolvers like all my other ML guns, warm water and a bit of dish soap. And then oil all parts and cylinder's. The next time I go to shoot my C & B all I do is shoot 2 caps on each nipple and go make smoke.
So it would be ok to use Rem oil or Ballistol in the cylinders?

So it would be ok to use Rem oil or Ballistol in the cylinders?