• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Cutting dovetail slots for under-lugs and sights - Baker Rifle build

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larks

40 Cal
Reaction score
I had not been able to find someone (in Oz) who could/would machine the dovetails for the underlugs and sights on my Baker Rifle build and I couldn’t find much on-line covering the process so I ended up having a crck at it myself with some pretty basic tools.

This is my first ever build so I am very new to this and so I can’t possibly suggest that this is the correct way to do it, but it seems to have worked. To add to the “fun", I’m working away from home for a few months so I decided to bring the barrel away with me to give me something to work on in my down time but, as a result, I’m away from my own workshop and tools and am making do with a very basic setup on the kitchen bench of a friends apartment where I am staying...

I can’t claim the result to be perfect and I’ve no doubt at all that there’ll be a lot of experience on this forum sniggering at my possibly misguided efforts, but I’m sufficiently happy with the outcome that I thought it worth sharing for anyone else needing to possibly learn from...... (??).