Crisco for Round Ball?

Discussion in 'Flintlock Rifles' started by Jeremy Bays, Dec 4, 2019 at 5:24 PM.

Help Support Muzzle Loading Forum by donating:

1. Dec 4, 2019 at 5:24 PM #1

Jeremy Bays

Jeremy Bays

Jeremy Bays

32 Cal

i am new to muzzle loading. I have a .50 cal Kentucky rifle by Traditions. I am using .490 ball and pillow ticking (.015) patch. I was wondering about lubing the patch with crisco. Is that an issue?
    Thanks
    Jeremy Bays

2. Dec 4, 2019 at 5:29 PM #2

Richard Konish

Richard Konish

Richard Konish

32 Cal

Crisco was used over the ball in percussion revolvers to prevent chain fires, but not sure about patched RB. Expect it will work fine but be careful to get the unsalted version. Someone is sure to chime in on this as well as formulas for mixing with other things to make it work better.

3. Dec 4, 2019 at 5:40 PM #3

Billy-by-gosh

Billy-by-gosh

Billy-by-gosh

32 Cal

Hi there,
    I can't help but say this was the first load I tried in my early ML/BP days. The rifle was loaded with 65 grains of 2F and a patched ball using Crisco on .10 patches. It worked fairly well, but accuracy was was mediocre. HOWEVER, I had to stop hunting with it, due to causing brush fires in the undergrowth! Sure halts the fun when you have to hurriedly stamp out 2 or 3 burning patches of grass and weeds after each shot.

4. Dec 4, 2019 at 6:36 PM #4

Erwan

Erwan

Erwan

36 Cl.

Crisco is what we call here "Végétaline", that can works on revolver but itsn't the best for the patches.
    The firs time I was shooting it was with "mutton tallow" but it stinks. Now I simply use pure Neatsfoot oil (three drops on a patch the day before shooting) and it works well, may be that one other stuff could be much better, but for me this is the best one and this not to expensive stuff...

RiverRat likes this.
  5. Dec 4, 2019 at 7:01 PM #5

rafterob

rafterob

rafterob

62 Cal.