• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Coning a Muzzle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This has probably been discussed at length here in the past but being a forum newbie I'll ask anyway. Has it been conclusively proven whether or not coning a muzzle has any effect on accuracy? Has anyone shot an un-coned barrel enough to determine it's accuracy, then coned the muzzle to see how the accuracy was affected? When I started shooting muzzleloaders in the '70's there wasn't much information on coned muzzles so we packed short starters. The only reference to coned muzzles I remember was in Baird's book and I think he wasn't sure about the effect on Hawken rifles or even why muzzles were coned. I could be wrong about that though, it's been awhile since I read the books. I'm not asking for opinions. I have enough of those myself. I'm looking for proven facts.

Thanks,

JS