• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Cleaning patches

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a question about cleaning patch size. As I've said on previous posts, I am a newbie to muzzleloading, everyone has been great to me since I joined this forum no matter how dumb some of my questions have been. Hat being said, I have a 50cal. Hawken, I've been told by several people that 3" cleaning patches was what i needed. I have those and a 50cal jag but, the patches wont even begin to fit without tearing. Am i doing something wrong?

Apparently others look at it differently than I do, and I do make my own patches for patching round balls, as I like square ones about an inch and a half square. But I do buy pillow ticking to make them. But I agree with Zonie, it's easier to buy 2 1/4 or 2 1/2 square patches that I know are 100% cotton and are not treated with anything to use for cleaning my muzzleloaders. I use patches made by T-C treated with number 13 bore cleaner for my first two patches and then two or three of the 2 1/2 or 2 1/4 white patches for finishing up. It takes one or two the following day to double check the condition of the bore. Hot soapy water pumped through the barrel seems to do away with having to use that many clean patches.
Squint