• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Cleaning a BP revolver. learned one way, what are some other methods

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RAM117

32 Cal
Reaction score
since im new to BP im still learning , i have a friend who has BP revolvers and this is what he has done for years no problem, but im just wondering longterm is this fine?

he takes it apart like u normally do then he just sprays the holy hell out out of with ballistol, then goes into cleaning it with a cloth, toothbrush and rod. hes never had a problem.
what are some other ways? and is that way fine?

"he takes it apart like u normally do then he just sprays the holy hell out out of with ballistol"

Profanity is not part of cleaning.

since im new to BP im still learning , i have a friend who has BP revolvers and this is what he has done for years no problem, but im just wondering longterm is this fine?

he takes it apart like u normally do then he just sprays the holy hell out out of with ballistol, then goes into cleaning it with a cloth, toothbrush and rod. hes never had a problem.
what are some other ways? and is that way fine?
If he is your friend, why don't you trust him to teach you right? At least until you've tried it half a dozen times and see a problem with it.

My way isn't exactly like his way but I'll give you something here way more valuable than a different way of cleaning a C&B pistol