• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Bullet starters?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to muzzle loading....
That being said I know I need a bullet starter before I use the ram rod. Between the small T starters, wood balls and synthetic balls,. Which work best for you? I'll be shooting 50 cal.

That being said I know I need a bullet starter before I use the ram rod. Between the small T starters, wood balls and synthetic balls,. Which work best for you? I'll be shooting 50 cal.
What makes you think you "need" a ball starter?
There is some controversy over whether or not they were original equipment. Some folks use them now. Some don't. I generally don't except when starting really tight fitting target loads.
If you choose not to, then grip your ramrod low near the muzzle of the barrel when starting the ball. Wooden ramrods get broken, and sometimes stabbed through a hand when gripping the ramrod too far up out of the gun muzzle.