• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Building a hawken from a kit.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Im a stockmaker by trade since 1994. I have never built a muzzleloader. Im really wanting to build a hawken half stock from a pecatonica kit.. I called the company and they said the hawken kits are a little difficult for beginner. I should of asked them why but I didn't. I am very experienced in inletting wood to metal and I dont believe I will have trouble with that aspect. I dont want to order one and get myself in a regret. Do you all think this is something I should stay away from? I have some smarts when it comes to the mechanics of a rifle. I have several BP rifles I shoot. Thank you for any advice.

I doubt you have anything to worry about as far as inletting.
What about lining up components for drilling and how is your filework?
Personally I think if you do your homework. Take a good look at Bill Raby's videos and you should be good to go.

At the end of the day is this a risk you wish to take?

What kid of "stocks" do you make?
Honest question. It's a matter of architecture fitting and detail that makes the "hawken" frame an intermediate to advanced build.
I ask because,, roughing 700 blanks is different than "glass bedding" a grade 4 walnut and dropping the comb 3 degrees with reduced cheek.