Bowie and Bible Myth?

Help Support Muzzle Loading Forum:

HiWayMan

32 Cal.
Reaction score
My friend has a frontier preacher persona. We have heard of a story of some frontier preachers giving out Bibles and Bowie knives to newly married couples. One was for the preservation of the body on earth and the other was for the preservation of the soul in Heaven. Is there any documented truth to this. He often performs weddings at 'voos and would like to incorporate this into his ceremonies if it is historically accurate.

Thanks all.

capnwilliam

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I have no knowledge or documentation re this, but my gut reaction would be that a poor country preacher in that era would count himself blessed to own a Bible and a Bowie of his own; giving them out like party favors to couples he was "a-marry-in'" would be quite an extravagance! :imo:

Capt. William

metalbender

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I have to concur that this would be a bit beyond the norm. Most preachers were circut riding preachers. Carried all they needed with them on horse back. Where on earth would they carry all these bibles and bowie knives? Additionally, Small bibles like we have now, would have been very uncommon, remember books were printed on movable type presses. Prayer books I think would have been a bit more common. Most books were very cherished on the frontier. :m2c:

gordy

50 Cal.
Reaction score
I wouldn't say it was impossible,but unlikely that a circuit preacher would have resources for such a venture.Most counted on their (congregations)to support Them with food and a place to stay while on their circuit.If this (Bowie-Bible) thing really happened it would have been very uncommon.I know of no documented accounts of such a person or persons.

Mike Moore

40 Cal.
Reaction score
HiWayMan,
I can give you some info on giving Bibles out at the original rendezvous (it happened in 1836 or 38), but like the rest; know of no mention of it happening at a wedding or with a Bowie.
mike.

rayb