• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Book Review, “Tim Murphy, Rifleman”

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
The rest of the title is “A Novel of Perry County, Pa. 1754-1840” by Roy “Rocky” F. Chandler and was published in 1993.

As a caveat, I should first mention I knew the author a little through my much more extensive personal contact with his brother Marine Lt. Col. Norman Chandler. I also have to note I am no expert on Rifleman Tim Murphy.

This is NOT an attempt to write an Historic Account of the Rifleman Tim Murphy, who most folks remember as the one often thought to be the Rifleman who shot British General Simon Fraser at the Battle of Saratoga. The author states clearly that he attempted to build a believable tale of Tim Murphy from what was known at the time the book was published, to fill in the unknown chronology of Murphy.