• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Black powder storage?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Salty_Possum

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm new to the hobby, and before I buy some BP I was wondering how I should store it? My folks have a garage 20-30 yards from the house, but will the temperature change during the year affect the powder at all? I was wondering if I store it in the house, should I buy a fireproof safe? I don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a safe big enough to store 7-10 1lb cans of 2f if I can help it. Appreciate the advice in advance.

No, don't buy a safe, I have about 6 to 8lbs. I keep it in the bottom of my closet. Just find a place that's cool and dry and blackpowder will keep forever.

Putting blackpowder in a safe is a mistake unless you leave the door unlocked, otherwise it becomes a bomb. It needs a vent to prevent excess pressure build up. Even a "fire proof" safe will reach high temps in a long fire and paper money and such can be destroyed during the fire unless double protected by a second insulated container of some sort.