• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Barrel fit

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DUNKS

40 Cal
Reaction score
Hi I am new to percussion guns and have a question please. I have an 1835 percussion double shotgun with hook fit barrels. I feel that the barrel fit in the hook is a bit tight, they obviously should not be a loose fit, but how tight should they be? I have blacked the hook and there seems to be no high spots but the barrels have to be forced down is this correct? Thanks.

Hi I am new to percussion guns and have a question please. I have an 1835 percussion double shotgun with hook fit barrels. I feel that the barrel fit in the hook is a bit tight, they obviously should not be a loose fit, but how tight should they be? I have blacked the hook and there seems to be no high spots but the barrels have to be forced down is this correct? Thanks.
There should be mild resistance, but not to the point of 'force'. Check the top of the lugs for resistance and also consider the wood at the rear 3 inches or so. Also check your underlug on the barrel to stock fit. Just ideas, hopefully better minds will offer advice.

Of course I have lubricated the hook. Under lug spears to be a perfect fit. Thanks anyway. I will get it into a gunsmiths.

The resistance comes as soon as the barrels are hooked. When forced down toward the wood it gets easier last bit to seat it Ito the wood is easy.