• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Anyone Know What These Parts Are?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tenaya

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hi,

I've been shooting for over 50 years, but I'm new to black powder. Sorting through the shop in my brother-in-law's estate, I came across these parts. He was huge into black powder and I know he built several rifles and pistols. They may be from one of his builds, or replacement parts for some other gun.

• They are engraved (possibly by rolling), nicely blued and apparently never used.
  • The through holes measure 0.750" and are adjustable via socket head cap screws.
  • When I measure the curved portion, I calculate that they would fit something with a 1.250" diameter.
  • The hole and notch in the smaller one was done during manufacturing, the engraving deliberately surrounds them.
  • My thoughts are: scope mounts OR tubular magazine brackets OR ramrod brackets.
Side 1.JPG
Bottom 1.JPG

Can anyone identify these parts and, maybe, the gun they fit?

Thank you in advance,

Tenaya

Tube magazine mounts generally were dovetailed to the barrel. They have an unusual dovetail in that they are put in at right angles to the barrel and turned so the hole is parallel to the barrel which locks them in place. These were made to screw to something round and then clamp down on whatever they held. The short one seems to be cut to mount near something and the engraving looks hand done to me. I admit I don't have a clue as to what their function was.