• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Another new guy question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dirk Pitt

32 Cal
Reaction score
Don’t shoot me down in flames too hard on this one, but if you read my other thread about my new gun you will see I am quite green when it comes to BP.

I was loading my pistol
Powder, ball, wad.

But after a bit of reading I think I got that wrong. It should be
Powder, wad, ball.

Is that correct?

Powder, wad [if you think you need one], ball.

Never used any kind of a wad in a handgun, me, but maybe I've been doing it all wrong since 1968.

Just a little reassurance here. You said "loading your pistol". Pistol as in single shot. Some folks refer to a revolver as a pistol.

Don’t shoot me down in flames too hard on this one, but if you read my other thread about my new gun you will see I am quite green when it comes to BP.

I was loading my pistol
Powder, ball, wad.

But after a bit of reading I think I got that wrong. It should be
Powder, wad, ball.

Is that correct?
That depends on what type of pistol your shooting.

For a cap & ball revolver, if you were going to use a wad you would load, powder, wad, ball. (The wad prevents any possibility of a chain fire from the front of the cylinder and lubricates the bore on the way out.)

For a single shot smoothbore with an un-patched, bare ball you would load, powder, unpatched ball, wad. (The wad keeps the ball from moving forward off of the powder).