• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

An unfair comparison between Kibler Colonial and trade guns??

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Birddog1911

40 Cal
Reaction score
So help me, I'm going to go crazy trying to select a smoothbore. Here's what I'm considering. For the purpose of this discussion, I'm listing kits. But a complete rifle isn't out of the equation.

I love the look of a Fusil. That will be a much more involved kit build, and I'm still a real novice. The one I think I'm most attracted to is the Clay Smith kit.

NW Trade Gun. A number of options. One that is attractive, from a skill level perspective, is the Pedersoli NW kit.

Kibler Colonial. A no brainer build, and quality parts.

For the moment, let's disregard caliber. Weight is one consideration. It seems the Kibler would be the heaviest. But how much will that affect the "pointability"?

So much to consider!

If you take your time you should be ok. You don’t have to be so adventurous on your first attempt. It got me into trouble my first one when I was younger

My kibler is lighter than my .32 pedersoli Kentucky. That's the.58 smoothbore I couldn't tell you the difference In Weight between the calibers but it is not a particularly heavy gun.

Just one man's opinion. Buy a kit you will like, and you will shoot that you can learn on. Something far less expensive than a one thousand dollar or more kit. If you are true novice, then you need to boost your tinkering skills.