• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Advice to new builders:

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Henry2357

40 Cal.
Reaction score
: so you don't go through what I did..

I am a very inexperienced builder, I am working on my first, A Pedersoli Trade Musket and I want to give some advice to those who are starting their new build.

For me I was as nervous as heck, OMG, OMG. I have to sand it right just like others say, Get that perfect smoothness, how much to sand,(heck for the first sand and shape I used my cordless battery sander, and it worked great) OMG how many different grads of paper, which I used 4, up to 320. Do I have it all cleaned off, heck I was using my compressor and our vacuum, I'm nervous to pull the barrel, don't want to break the fore-stock, I'm nervous to start to stain, Am I doing it right.

I almost didn't want to start the project!!.

So something just came to me, It's not a newborn baby(even though its been years now and my memory is not like it used to be and I may have dropped her just once).. So what did I do, While being careful of course, I JUST DID IT. So if any of you starting or thinking of a build, Stop the nervous manure and just do it.. Being nervous wasn't worth it and almost ruined my fun, it turned out it wasn't rocket science.
I started, was careful like i mentioned and it's coming out great. All stained and ready for finishing.

PS, I am nervous as heck to brown the barrel though. .:oops: I'll never change.

pictures or it didn't happen.