• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

.50 caliber pistol kit

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tommy b

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm looking to build a kit gun as I have never done one before. I'm thinking of buying a Traditions Trapper model in .50 caliber percussion. (I love those double set triggers) Can anybody give me some info on this model? I understand that it is an accurately shooting gun. Is it historically accurate as well? If so, should the barrel be browned or blued? If not, I'll probably just blue it. Can I use a .490 round ball with a .015 patch? (The same as I use in my .50 caliber T/C hawken) Any information will be appreciated.

Their ad reads:

"A classic hooked breech pistol with remarkable accuracy, now in your choice of percussion or flintlock ignition. The pistols primitive style adjustable rear sight and double set triggers, capable of firing set or unset, allow you to predictably put your shots on target. Select hardwood stock, .50 caliber, 9 3/4" blued octagonal barrel, 1:20" rate of twist, fixed blade front sight, 15.5" length, 2 lbs. 14 oz. Also available in build it yourself kit."

As for if it is historically accurate, what era are you shooting for? (bad pun)
rolleyes.gif

You could use a .490 r/b, but you may have to change your patch thickness to adjust to the riflings depth.

I noticed that the pistol you want looks like the old T/C Patriot pistol, but it was only a .45 caliber.

Tommy: