• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

36 cal Navy ball?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrmflintlock

45 Cal.
Reaction score
i just uncovered a 36 cal Navy (I think) that my buddy gave me about 15 years ago. He gave it too me in a box. It was in pieces and all rusty. I cleaned it up and put it back together. And forgot about it. Bore is bright and chambers are good. What caliber ball would I shoot out of it? How many grains of fff?
I’m very new to percussion Revolvers, but loving my 1960 Army’s!!!
Thank!!

Some things we may have to do for ourselves. In cases such as jrmflintlock's situation, a measurement of the chamber diameter will tell us what ball size to recommend. Jrmflintlock, can you read any of the markings to tell us the maker? This also helps to determine a starting ball size and powder charge. Can you remove the nipples? Measure the tip of the nipples to determine if you need #10 or #11 caps. Many of these revolvers have either a factory nipple that may or may not need #10 caps or it may have aftermarket caps that work better with #11.

My Uberti Navy Reb and Uberti 1858 Navy both measure 0.375 at the chamber. A 0.375 ball will fall out of the chamber. I need a 0.380" ball. Dial calipers are inexpensive and easy to use for both inside and outside measurements.

You have an 1860 Army. What ball does it shoot? Is that ball very much larger than the chambers of your Navy? Measurements please.

36 caliber Navy firearms are a joy to shoot. You will have a good experience when you get the parts you need.