• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freedom

Pilgrim
Reaction score
This spring I purchased a 1st model Uberti Dragoon from a very nice gentleman member here. And I thought some of you folks might enjoy some pictures and stories from my time with the big horse pistol.

I have really gotten to know my Dragoon this summer while packing her around the ranch. Shooting regularly at all targets of opportunity has taught me what I can (and can't) accomplish with her.

In May I started practicing daily with the Dragoon at long range on my large steel bucket. The Bucket measures 28"x 22"x 32"

By taking a 6 o'clock hold on the bottom edge of the 32" tall target, I was able to land most balls at the top edge of the target...all the way back at 100 & 150 yards from the target.
My usual load is 40-50 grains of whatever black powder I have in the horn, behind a .457RB with SPG lube smeared over the ball.

This is the steel bucket with 12 shots in a row on it...6 shots from 100 yards, then moving back for 6 at 150 yards. (the big splats are from a buffalo rifle)

attachment.php

The factory sights hit very high and yes, my loading lever often falls down. I got used to the loading lever drop, but I eventually had to open up my rear sight hammer-notch with a Dremel cutting wheel.

This worked splendidly for lowering my point of impact. And the sight modification gave me many fun-filled days in the hayfield shooting ground squirrels! Good for practice, good for the field, very bad for the rodent!