• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

1861 Springfield Repro First Time Clean and Protectant Question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TDDredge

36 Cl.
Reaction score
Hello all!

I am new to black powder, and absolutely got into it to get into historical guns (or reproductions thereof...), and I am in the act of acquiring a reproduction 1861 Springfield. As someone who shoots modern smokeless guns quite a bit (I shoot 2 and 3 gun), there are a lot of things that are quite different, and a few details I would like to make sure I have right. I want to take care of this gun, I am sure it will be a beautiful rifle, and I wish to keep it so.

I assume, as with modern firearms, that the gun should be cleaned before the first use. Would you do this as you would normally clean the musket? My cleaning plan is outlined below (bearing in mind right when I get it one of the first things I'll do is remove the nipple and grease it with choke grease, and I'm fairly sure you're supposed to fire some percussion caps on their own with no main charge, to make sure to really blast the touch hole clear):

Use a piece of leather to seal the nipple
Pour hot water down the barrel