• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

17th Century Holster Pistol

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lincolnsreg

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the forum. I'm looking for help identifying lock marks on a late 17th century flintlock holster pistol.

It has been in my possession for some years, and now I have time to research more, I'd be interested in what you all think. The barrel has London proof marks (without cartouche). The lock has no outer markings (and therefore possibly for civilian market), but inside there is a crown over 'I' and and IH. I have always presumed the I to mean James II (I found this in a book many years ago). I was interested as to who IH might be. My best guess is John Hawkins, who was active in the 1680s but his later barrel marks are a crown over IH.

As much as I would like Blackmore's Dictionary of London gunmakers, it is a tad expensive.

Note: the stock, thimble and ramrod are replacements (original battered stock still in possession).

Any thoughts or suggestions gratefully received.
Thanks
20200622_185654.jpg

20200622_185842.jpg
20200622_185858.jpg
20200622_185923.jpg
20200622_185935.jpg

Hi,
Can you photograph the proof marks on the barrel? The IH in the lock is the lock maker not gun maker. The crown over I is not English and I am not convinced at all the gun is English and it is probably from the 18th century. The separate pan is not an English feature but is common on French and German guns.

dave

Hi Dave,